Log In    

Sat. 21 January 2017

Doheny Mansion
Los Angeles
Hunt & Eisen (1899)


Laurence Dreyfus, treble viol, director; Emilia Benjamin, treble viol; Jonathan Manson, tenor viol; Markku Luolajan-Mikkola, bass viol

"Pearls of Polyphony"

A Gramophone Award-winning quartet of viols (forerunner of the string quartet) explores the staggering genius of contrapuntal writing by composers of the Elizabethan, Jacobean and Restoration eras - from Byrd and Gibbons, to Locke and Purcell - culminating with excerpts of J.S. Bach’s monumental Art of Fugue (BWV 1080). "Rigorous intellect with sensitive musicianship" (BBC Music Magazine). "The playing is quite simply divine." (Gramophone). “Endlessly inventive, tonally ravishing, and just about enough to restore your faith in the human race” (Continuo).

Following the concert, meet the artists at a champagne and dessert reception.

Warner & Carol Henry are cosponsors of the Il Barocco Series